Moscow Court Extends Detention for Four More Ukrainian POWs

So far, 12 of the 24 captured POWs have had their detentions extended


Photo from Ukrinform – UATV

The Lefortovsky District Court in Moscow has extended the detention of another three captured Ukrainian sailors and an officer of the Security Service of Ukraine (SBU).

Denys Hrytsenko, Vyacheslav Zinchenko, Mykhailo Vlasiuk and Andriy Drach will stay behind the bars for another three months until July 24, 2019, Hromadske reports, according to Ukrinform.

Earlier today, the detention of Serhiy Tsybizov, Roman Mokriak, Andriy Oprysko, Yevhen Semidotsky, Volodymyr Tereshchenko, Bohdan Holovash, Serhiy Popov and Andriy Shevchenko was extended until July 24.

The court hearings on the extension of detention of 24 Ukrainian prisoners of war are being held in the Lefortovsky District Court in Moscow.

On November 25, 2018, Russian security forces seized three Ukrainian Navy vessels near the Kerch Strait and captured 24 Ukrainian servicemen. Three of them were wounded in the attack.

The Russian-controlled “court” in occupied Crimea detained all Ukrainian sailors for allegedly crossing the Russian water border illegally. Now they are being held in the Lefortovo remand prison. All the detained Ukrainian sailors declared themselves prisoners of war.

On January 24, 2019, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe adopted a resolution, calling on Russia to treat the Ukrainian captured sailors in accordance with the Geneva Convention on Prisoners of War.

Source Ukrinform
date 17.04.2019
categories Prisoners of Kremlin
Top UA|TV News