US House Passes Crimea Annexation Non-Recognition Act

The bill passed the U.S. House of Representatives with an overwhelming majority - with 427 of 435 legislators supporting it


U.S. Congress

Photo UATV/Ukrinform

On Tuesday, the United States House of Representatives pushed forward a bill barring any American department or agency from recognizing Russia’s illegal annexation of Crimea.

The “Crimea Annexation Non-recognition Act” was approved by an overwhelming majority on Tuesday with 427 of the 435 legislators supporting it.

The draft law states that the U.S. does not recognize the sovereignty of the Russian Federation over Crimea, its airspace, or its territorial waters, the Ukrainian Embassy in the United States wrote on Facebook.

The document states that “no federal department or agency may take any action or extend any assistance that recognizes or implies recognition of the de jure or de facto sovereignty of the Russian Federation over Crimea.”

Source Ukrinform
date 13.03.2019
categories Politics
Top UA|TV News