US House Passes Resolution Disapproving Russia’s Return to G-7

In August, United States President Donald Trump had voiced support for Russia's return to the G-7


The United States House of Representatives passed a resolution disapproving Russia’s return to the Group of Seven (G-7) in a 339-71 vote on Tuesday (Dec. 3).

Russia was expelled from the then “G-8” in 2014 following its invasion of Ukraine’s Crimean peninsula and the start of its undeclared war in the Donbas.

The resolution was introduced by Rep. Albio Sires (D-N.J.) in August after President Donald Trump said that he believed that Russia should be readmitted into the G-7. It received bipartisan support.

“Time and time again, Russia has shown it has no respect for the territorial or democratic integrity of other nations,” Sires said in a statement after it passed out of committee. “…Russia has not met any of the conditions but has become more aggressive in Ukraine and has undermined democracy in numerous other countries, including the United States.

“As stated in this resolution, Russia should be not be readmitted to the Group of Seven until Putin respects the principles shared by the other members, relinquishes his chokehold over Crimea, and ceases his global attacks on democratic institutions. Maintaining the integrity of the Group of Seven is vital to the Group’s success, and Russia cannot be allowed to bully its way back in,” House Committee on Foreign Affairs Ranking Member Mike McCaul (R-Texas) said on the floor ahead of the vote.

In June 2020, the U.S. will host the G-7 Summit.

Source The Hill
date 04.12.2019
categories World
Top UA|TV News